Real Betis Wins Copa Del Rey

Real Betis won their first Copa del Rey since 2005 with a penalty shootout victory over Valencia in Seville.

USA teenager Yunus Musah was the only player to miss his spot-kick, with Juan Miranda scoring the decisive penalty for Betis, who were deserved winners.

Borja Iglesias powered in a close-range header from Hector Bellerin’s cross to put them ahead.

Huro Duro was played through by Ilaix Moriba and chipped the ball over Claudio Bravo for the equaliser.

Betis hit the post twice, through Sergio Canales and Juanmi.

Nabil Fekir and Iglesias were also denied winners in open play by Valencia keeper Giorgi Mamardashvili.

It was only the fourth major trophy in Real Betis’ history, after the 1934-35 La Liga title and the Spanish Cup in 1977 and 2005. Captain Joaquin, 40, who came on and scored in the shootout, also played in that 2005 win.

Real Betis boss Manuel Pellegrini lifted a trophy for the first time since the 2015-16 League Cup final with Manchester City.

This was only the second Copa del Rey final not involving Barcelona or Real Madrid since 2010.

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *