Burna Boy, Tems, Ayra Starr and Asake

Burna Boy, Ayra Starr, and Tems Among Nigerian Artists Nominated for 2024 BET Awards

The BET Awards have unveiled their 2024 nominees, showcasing a strong representation of Nigerian talent. Leading the pack are Burna Boy, Ayra Starr, and Tems, who are poised to make a significant impact at this year’s ceremony.

The prestigious event, known as “Culture’s Biggest Night,” will be broadcast live from Los Angeles on Sunday, June 30, 2024.

Burna Boy, celebrated globally as the “African Giant,” has earned nominations in two major categories: Best Male Hip-Hop Artist and Best Male R&B/Pop Artist. He faces stiff competition from international stars such as Drake, Usher, Chris Brown, Kendrick Lamar, Future, and Gunna.

Tems has also made a mark with two notable nominations. She is in the running for Best Video Director and Best Gospel/Inspirational Song for her hit “Me & U.”

Ayra Starr, who has enjoyed a breakout year, leads her Nigerian peers with three nominations. The young artist is up for Best New Artist, Best African Act, and Best HER for her single “Commas.”

Additionally, Davido and Lojay are contenders for the Viewer’s Choice Award thanks to their collaboration on Chris Brown’s track “Sensational.” Asake is nominated for Best International Act, while Seyi Vibez is up for Viewer’s Choice Best International New Act.

On a global scale, American rapper Drake leads with seven nominations, closely followed by Nicki Minaj with six. Other prominent nominees include J. Cole, Sexyy Red, SZA, and Victoria Monét with five nominations each. 21 Savage, Beyoncé, Doja Cat, Megan Thee Stallion, Tyla, and Usher have each secured four nominations.

The 2024 BET Awards, themed “Stand on Culture,” promises an exciting celebration of artistic excellence. The event will be aired live on BET at 8 p.m. ET/PT.

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *