AFCON 2022: The Senegalese Journey

The Senegalese national team defeated Egypt in the Total Energies Africa Cup of Nations final on Sunday 6th February 2022.

Senegal won 4-2 on penalties after a goalless 120-minute match, with Liverpool forward Sadio Mane scoring the game-winning kick.

Following their final 1-0 loss to Algeria in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, they have won their first-ever Africa Cup of Nations title, and the Total Energies Africa Cup of Nations has come to an end.

Senegal defeated Zimbabwe 1-0 on the first day of the tournament.

Day 2 was not much better, as they were held to a goalless draw with Guinea.

All hopes were high when they faced Malawi on match day 3, but they ended up playing a goalless draw.

Fortunately, they advanced to the round of 16 and showed some champion spirit by defeating Cape Verde 2-0.

In the Quarter-Finals, they defeated Equitorial Guinea 3-1. At this point, everyone was looking in the direction of Senegal, wondering if they would be able to win the tournament.

Another 3-1 victory over Burkina Faso in the semi-finals qualified them for the final against Egypt.

Senegal failed to take an early lead when Mohamed Abou Gabal saved Sadio Mane’s penalty in the seventh minute at Olembe Stadium in Cameroon’s capital Yaounde.

Egypt came close to scoring, but Edouard Mendy saved Mohamed Salah’s near-post shot with three minutes remaining in the first half.

The game ended in a goalless draw after neither team scored in the second half.

Senegal had several chances during extra time, but Mohamed Abou Gabal stood tall, successfully blocking their attempts and sending the game to penalties.

Senegal defeated Egypt on penalties to win the AFCON in 2021.

The Confederation of African Football increased the prize pool for the 2021 Total Energies Africa Cup of Nations from $4.5 million to $5 million.

The following prizes will be awarded:

Winner: Senegal
Prize money: $5million

Runners-up: Egypt
Prize money: $2.75million

Semi Finalists: Burkina Faso and Cameroon
Prize money: $2.2million each

Quarter Finalists: Gambia, Tunisia, Morocco and Equatorial Guinea
Prize money: $1.8million

Oh hi there đź‘‹
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *